top of page
  • pm3u19

Phase Three: Game Idea One

Updated: Jan 22, 2022

After Phase Two, one of the most interesting research that I did that I loved the concept of was the research I did into Boston Dynamics' R&D and how their robots would start to deteriorate but in a modular way (so only the arm gets a problem) and the idea that you could just swap out the problematic limb. the main reason I find this so fascinating is that I think it already sounds like a great game mechanic where you can swap out arms to get one that isn't broken.


So I did a small prototype of how this could work and run it through some iterations and I it wasn't terrible. by no means it was massively fun but to the point it was it getting across worked.


You had to get the blocks from the left side of the screen over to the star on the right, you did this by rolling two die, one of them was movement and you would then need to match the second one to make sure you didn't deteriorate. The straws would act as obstacles and you would be able to overcome them if you went to the correct question mark block as this would give you an upgrade via scavenging another robot.

The game idea is very much built around a mechanic which I would say it needs some more balancing and work but it definitely has potential. I would like to focus more on different upgrade you could get from scavenging other robots.


Intended Experience:


below is a chart of this ideas intended experience







3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page