top of page
  • pm3u19

Phase Three: Game Idea Three

Updated: Jan 22, 2022

The thing that drew me too the robot theme to begin with was the viral videos of Boston Dynamics' robots of them doing parkour and dancing. This always seemed fascinating in the sort of sense that robots can have a relationship between them.


Obviously they are all programed to have these reactions, yet still the way they act is powerful enough to invoke emotions in a similar way to fictional characters like the robots from Wall-e. especially recently they have a video of the Spot robots arm attachment singing along with songs and it helps show even non-humanoid robots can portray this emotion.


The main thing that I want to take away from these videos is the sense of community in a group of robots and how natural it can feel. despite them being programmed dance moves or instructions.


So for my Third game idea I wanted it to be about a community of robots and how they interact with each other. This meant when I was doing my general designs for how my robots would look I realised they would have to be able to express themselves.

My Phase Three sketches of robot designs.

I did a task with others in the studio where I tasked us all to summarise what our games would be about in three words. I liked the idea of a short summary, unfortunately I didn't really know what this community of robots were doing. So I looked into what community normally do and religion came up, I found this a interesting concept, but I wanted a verb for the three words so I looked into what religions could do and settled on a pilgrimage.


I think the idea of a handful of devout robots journeying across harsh environments to be such a thrilling idea, some of them just falling down due to them breaking down but the others just having to abandon them as they have to get to the end point.


I think this could create a meaningful interaction from the protagonist that would effect player. but the only problem with this is that I would need to make sure the robots I create for my game would be able to express the idea of abandoning them, and since I don't want them to. talk I would need to do this will the face (mainly eyes) and body language. Although this challenge is a hard one I would be massively dedicated to making this idea work.


Intended Experience:


below is a chart of this ideas intended experience



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page