top of page
  • pm3u19

Research relevant to The Wayfinder:

Music Research:


The music I am making for wayfinder is using meta sound and this means instead of a composted soundtrack it will be a procedurally generated one, so I wanted to look at other games that use procedurally generated soundtracks and how that effected the game experience to see if I can learn from it and it can influence the way I will make music for my game.


When talking to someone at Barclays event they mentioned to look into spore for procedurally generated music. I found an article about spore and one of the sound designers on the game:

it added some interesting views on the topic that I was working on, but even more interesting is looking into who else worked on spore's audio design and one of the people who worked on spore Is Aaron McLeran, now directing Epic games audio designer and HE MADE meta sounds, he did a 3 hour video on meta sounds and making music, this was all the help that I needed to make the music I was making more cohesive. he explained tricks to music while giving me fun ways to advance what I had done with meta sounds. here


UI design:


The general design of brand for our game is minimalist and clean design, so I wanted to look into how I can follow up from the brand design into UI design and I hope it reflects well on the game that I end up making.


When looking into games with minimalistic UI it is hard because a lot of design in current age is so minimalist it actually gets rid of most UI elements, but one game that does a good balance in my eyes is Death stranding. They keep most of the constant UI to be semi transparent like it is an element of your HUD if you were wearing futuristic goggles as well as keeping an element of Ui in front of your character as if HE needs to see it as well as you keeping all this information grounded into the world you are playing in. I think that is the perfect vibe for how I want to design the UI in wayfinder.

How to make a good Codex?


Codexes are not a massively common thing in most games now as you have all the information given to you but in some games like Mass effect I find the world building so magnificent that I just want to learn more about the different alien races and how they fit in that game world.


When making the Wayfinder we had so much fun creating this world and these characters so in wanted to make a codex for the game but I didn't know where to start so I looked into the way that games like Doom and Mass effect portal information but still keep it engaging to the player.


t think having a good visual of the object and some text not all too serious is the key to having a good codex, that and a snappy menu system, hopefully taking this information forward is enough to make a good codex for wayfinder.

3 views0 comments
bottom of page