top of page
  • pm3u19

Music in the Wayfinder:

In unreal 5 they have a feature called meta sounds this lets the user make a node map that will result in a sound being made, this can be manipulated int making music by repeating the sound to a BPM. I want to make the music of wayfinder using this for two reasons

  1. the music being produced is synthetic and I think this would be amazingly fitting for a game where you play as a robot.

  2. this process can be procedurally generated, this mean every time it will randomly be picked meaning you can design it so it will never be the same soundtrack for two people making your experience a truly unique one.

These are the early renditions of the music that I made, it shows the node structure I used to make a full set of soundtracks.

Unfortunately I found that the music I made because it was all random sometimes felt really off and sometimes felt great. this just meant it needed more work, luckily as I talked about in my research blog, I found a livestream of the person who directs the audio design at epic games and unreal to give further insight into how meta sounds works and how you can make your work better.


here is the newer music I made, I think it works much better for an overall soundtrack having a much more enjoyable melody overall, this being the case I thing some of the old music is still usable and I want to implement it somewhere in the game.



Video of The finished music in the wayfinder:


Video part 1 of 2 (old Music):

Video part 2 of 2 (new Music):


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page