top of page

Gameplay Loops Storyboard:

From my four game ideas I had to make start whittling down my ideas as it was getting to a point where I am developing my ideas and if I keep all of them going alongside each other they wouldn't allow me to focus enough to actually mould any of them into interesting ideas.


With that said I have chosen to progress the ideas of my 'Espionage' and 'Repair' ideas and in doing so I have to created a story board for each of the gameplay loops presented in the previous Blog. The objective of this is to better visualize the game and maybe show some mechanic / environmental development to my game ideas.


'Repair' Game Idea's Storyboard:

The general narrative I wanted to make from this storyboard is that you can think outside the box quite literally the method used to climb the building is a tree that is mostly out the first frames box. A lot of the frames are done from a first person aspect and i'm not actually too keen on slide 2 being first person because I think the actual movement would be third person but drawing it like that got a better sense of scale. I think it suits parts like the Wires in frame 4 and the tinkering with the inventions in frame 6.



'Espionage' Game Idea's Storyboard:


This story board does something other game ideas didn't took the player inside and with it lead my train of thought down a whole new path, this lead me to think of unique ways of entering buildings: vents, chimneys and windows (but the ones that open in weird funnel ways \| < like that ) and how these areas wouldn't be patrolled by people on guard of those buildings. Also I like how this was my only idea that actually had any solid concept of narrative. This was mainly because if I was going to get my character to do immoral things it would have to be for the right reason so it is going to be like they are uncovering a conspiracy on like a national level.


In the end when I came to imagining the level design for this game it always was a bit more linear and less possible to achieve the concept of playing the level the way you want and having creative freedom to play how you want. I think this is probably because of the concept of guards being on patrol so certain areas are essentially blocked off.


Summary of the Task: Overall this has opened my eyes quite a bit in the essence of making an area truly free to explore etc because there is only so many ways I can depict traversing a building, for example the buildings I've drawn seem to only have one or two ways to manoeuvre throughout them. I think i will need to look into more ways to diversify the finished areas if I want to make my game embrace the 'freedom to explore and traverse the environment the way you want' as that loses its enticing element if the environment is bland and repetitive.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page