top of page

3D Game Idea Scene:

This week I have been working on creating a 3D scene of the game idea I have been working towards of the 'Repair' iteration of my game idea. This involved making an Urban environment with a variety of buildings and 'objectives' like antennas to reach at the top of them. This will make my some areas have significances and keep the views eye drawn to those areas.



I wanted to make an area that could both feel open and yet very dense and populated to really encompass an urban and developed area. this lead to buildings with lots of lights and lots of windows as in big cities the easiest way to signify this is with lit up rooms.



The next thing I wanted to connote with my environment was a sense of messiness with the arrangement of electronics. This was because when I was using the particle effects to randomly spread out the light-posts and antenna they always went in weird places.




This would create a narrative drive to why I the player would always have to be called out to repair and fix faulty electronics, as they would have been installed so rapidly and carelessly. I thought this would be a great building block to make my world with.



As my initial idea for this game was to make these buildings traversable and give the player many ways to climb them I wanted to start getting this across with things like ladders that are dotted about the scene.





I started off with making this sort of church in the middle as an eye catching centre piece of the scene but I actually thing it ends up being less eye catching than the rest of the area because it is so bland.





After seeing the whole scene together I definitely think that this is a great way to get across the environment of my game world. Secondly the task has helped me build a narrative foundation for the world my game is set in so this scene was a great success!



Areas that I would like to improve on would have to be texturing as I haven't learnt that skill yet and I definitely think that would make the areas I make come to life more and become way more believable. Also I want to make more variety and details on my building as the whole point is they can be climbed and traversed in many ways, maybe adding some drain pipes or dumpsters to help with climbing around them would help.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page