top of page

Repairing mechanic development:

This was the central idea that I chose to make my game around, from the beginning I was wanted to do some sort of urban traversal, but I always like the narrative aspect that you aren't just running around rooftops for no reason and that you are actually doing it to get to an area that is in need of repair.



When it comes to the concept of my game I initially thought that I would be waypoint you went to and the main game would consist of getting from one area to another. Instead I want to make more of a mini game out of this part of the gameplay loop. This change has three main reasons behind it.


1. This will split up the gameplay loop, otherwise you would constantly running around from point to point. putting a lot of emphasis on just the movement of the game which could get very bland without a change go gameplay.


2. This allows there to be a substantial difference to the various objectives, each repair job can have its own mini game type. For example, electrical repair jobs could focus on visual skill and plumbing based repairs could be more of a skill puzzle type mini game.


3. This can divide up the level to give more opportunities to earn money or have the amount you earn lessened by the outcome of your repair. Encouraging successes. paring this with an idea of being paid more for a quick job will be a good double edged sword wanting to get it done quick and efficient for the most money overall.


with these things in mind I will have a few things to research and develop to have a well thought out aspect of my game.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Logo:

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page