top of page

Favela Structure Research:

Here I'm going to show sets of pictures I found when searching for images of Favela on Google images in attempts to create a general theme for my environment and eventually a level design theme.

I think these pictures resemble the sort of environment I want in my games more than my first prototype from the 3D scene a lot more buildings on top of each other making for more playable area not to mention this would enhance the essential experience I have of being able to have a variety of methods from getting from point a to point b.


Secondly these sort of building have their electronic devices like antenna and satellite dishes scattered across the rooftops in a very sporadic fashion already working into a theme for may game.


While looking for these pictures I came across a very interesting article: https://www.archdaily.com/531253/case-study-the-unspoken-rules-of-favela-construction


Within the article they discus the culture behind this style of living and they bring up a very interesting point in the article.


"Constructing a roof with tiles is not a sign of wealth here — rather, it means that there’s not enough money to continue constructing the house"


This will root the objectives of the environments higher make the levels I will make have a slight gamification to environment as more height you climb the more you will be able to do.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page