top of page

Gameplay Moments of Wonder:

We were tasked with capturing a moment of gameplay from a game that we are currently playing that captivate our interest, specifically a certain aspect about the game that is the most interesting.



The game that I have chosen is Monster Hunter World: Iceborne. A game all about fighting large monsters in exotic environments, the gameplay I've used in this clip is from the latest expansion and shows me fighting a legendary dragon called Fatalis. The specific thing this game does to interest me is this amazing feeling of an incredible obstacle that you overcome, in this case its a fire breathing dragon but there are a wide range on dangerous creatures that you can face. This feeling of 'overcoming' is only enhanced by the idea that all of the animations and movement that Fatalis does are realistic with weight behind them: when he moves parts of his body have to drag along the floor, when it does a large breath attack it has to brace itself on the floor with its arms/wings and lastly when it is staggered in its upright position its head lashes back from the force. Overall it's all these small attention to detail in the movement that creates an immersive enemy that both LOOKS and FEELS like a badass monster to fight.


The last aspect that creates this immersion in this situation is the power you have to stop this overwhelming force, there are two instances where despite this monsters huge threatening presence my character can stun/stagger the monster. This in contrast to points I made before about the monsters movement gives you that pure adrenaline of overcoming this formidable foe.


What to take from this:

The important thing to take away from this is the games main appeal to me is the satisfaction of overcoming the overwhelming obstacles that are the monsters, this only is so satisfying because of the immersion created due to realistic movement and actions. So when it comes to me creating my game, I want to use this as an inspiration for my game, I want to make the core experience as IMMERSIVE as possible to to capture the feeling the best.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page